Spring? Yes, Please!

Luxury-Glamorous-wedding-cake

Is it just me or has this Northern winter been endlessly long and gray?

March is a sneaky bastard of a month. You can’t really go out for a brisk one for fear an innocuous looking mud puddle is really an ice slick waiting to suck you under a parked car and down a storm drain. (Yes, I read “It” by Stephen King a million years ago, and like smart people everywhere, keep a close eye on storm drains.)

I have spring fever, cabin fever, and heck, maybe even Dengue fever for all I know–I swear that was blood AND tears coming out of my eyes when my husband informed me they’re calling for a big snow in a few days…

I dream of summer. I cannot wait to get outdoors. I cannot wait to moan that I am too hot and humid, do compulsive body checks on myself and other for wood ticks, and fret about parasites found in shallow lake water.

In the meantime, I look at pictures of pretty wedding cakes to make me smile, think dirty thoughts to make me happy, and forget everything while writing in the world of my next book. It’s a balmy October there!

Here’s to springtime and getting your hands dirty!

download

Tracy Ellen

4 thoughts on “Spring? Yes, Please!

  1. J says:

    Agree! Although I look at other things like sun and blue skies! Here here. Done with winter and the blues!

  2. Judith Jones says:

    You write so well, you actually made me feel sorry for you, yet laugh at (with?) you at the same time.
    Here in the tropics we love the “cold” weather!! We actually revel in it, wearing most of our clothes to be warm, snuggling up on the couch at night with a blanket and a good book, shivering every now and then to remind ourselves that it’s freezing out there…down into the 50’s by now, much too cold to get up to go to bed cuz it’s cold, too. I guess we all have our crosses to bear!

Leave a Reply

